Dead Week

flat,800x800,075,f

Five papers. Three tests. Two assignments. One week. This is easily the most stressful dead week I’ve ever had; of course, it’s my last one, and I thought it would be easy. Throw into that mess the fact that I’m preparing for a study abroad that leaves two days after the semester ends, for which I need to read three novels and a play. I’ve never felt more like the upside-down smiley face emoji.

With all of these deadlines coming up, some classes are taking priority over others, I spend more time at the library than my apartment, and my main source of food is the vending machine. Thoughts race through my mind in double-spaced Times New Roman 12 pt. font. School takes over my life, and it’s sometimes hard to remind myself that this is all temporary. But it is. And I know I can’t be the only person who feels like this. Out of pure desperation for a distraction from all of this madness, I did a little research into some quick stress-relief techniques. Here’s what I found, what worked, and what I suggest. Mental health is so important to take care of, so maybe this can help someone else out who’s feeling crushed by dead week like me.

Dragon Breathing

Okay, so this isn’t a stress relief technique that I put a lot of research into. It’s actually from the new Netflix reboot of the classic T.V. show, Queer Eye. The style expert, Jonathan Van Ness, recommends what he calls “dragon breathing:” basically, you just close one nostril, breathe through one side of your nose, then exhale through the other, closed side. And repeat. I’m very skeptical of breathing techniques, but this one actually worked for me. After doing it for about two minutes, I actually felt more relaxed and my mind was clearer. This website has pretty good instructions for how to do it.

photo-1502139214982-d0ad755818d8

If…Then Goals

This is adapted from this website. Their version is for more of a long-term habit forming goal, but it works well with studying and completing assignments, too. Examples would be “if I finish this paper, then I can get coffee” or “if I study for three hours, then I can go to a movie with my friends.” It’s a good way to reward yourself for hard work and motivate yourself to get it done, and having something non-academic to look forward to always gives us a nice break from studying. Of course, this isn’t always the best tactic for someone like me who saves everything for the last minute and therefore rarely has five minutes to spare.

Mini Meditation

So this is a nice guide to getting the most out of meditation in a short period of time. I will say meditation has never been something I’ve felt I got a lot out of, but if anything taking five minutes away from what is stressing you out and focusing on breathing, staying still, and positive thoughts is always helpful (even if you don’t feel completely refreshed afterward).

photo-1510034141778-a4d065653d92

Essential Oils

This one is a little spendier than the others, because it requires getting a hold of essential oils and, if you prefer, an aromatherapy diffuser. But it is very worth it. Here is a guide to some oils that relieve stress and anxiety. Some people might not be big believers in aromatherapy, but I’ve tried putting drops of oils like lavender and eucalyptus on my hands and wrists and it really does help keep me calm. Even if it is just a slight relief, I’ll take it. Some oils can help you sleep better, too, which is always a great bonus.

Exercise

Get up and moving! Even if it’s just a quick walk or run, being active can help get our endorphins going. This can help put us in a better mood, forget our insignificant worries, and give us more energy to do that dreaded homework. This website offers several different reasons to work out and what will work best.

photo-1508533397692-5b12cd1a0eb2

Get Outside

If any of your studying can be done outdoors, I seriously recommend taking your books outside. There’s the obvious benefit of not being confined in a stuffy library with hundreds of other students, along with other benefits like the fact that nature can literally relieve our stress. I can vouch for this one, because (like the last tip) I like to go running outside; I run a few miles around campus or by the river. It takes less than an hour and I instantly feel less anxiety and have more energy to put forward into completing what I need to at school.

Friends

The T.V. show! Just kidding. But support from the people you care about can be really essential to making it through stressful times. Even just calling your mom to chat can have an impact! Connecting with those who love us can make us feel calmer and more motivated to get things done, because there’s nothing better than knowing that there’s people out there who believe in you. And if you don’t feel like being around humans, furry friends count, too. There is a reason the NDSU library brings in dogs during finals week; petting animals has an effect similar to (and, in my opinion, better than) the one that hugging humans has on our bodies. It can increase chemicals in the brain like serotonin and calm us down. And who hasn’t felt better after spending a few minutes cuddling a dog?

photo-1507652955-f3dcef5a3be5

Obviously, there’s a ton of info out on the internet about what you can do to relieve stress. I just found that most of these had an impact on me in some way, so I thought I would share. I think taking things one step at a time, planning ahead, getting enough sleep, and staying hydrated are probably the most important things for everyone, finals week or not. Taking care of our bodies and minds is essential to being successful (even if I sometimes forget that!)

Good luck to everyone over these next couple of weeks!

 

One thought on “Dead Week

Leave a comment